Developing research and higher education on animal biodiversity and wildlife conservation in the Caribbean

Our mission

DSC_0494The association « Caribaea Initiative » aims at contributing to the development of scientific research on biodiversity and wildlife management at the scale of the Antillean arc*.
To that end, the association financially supports the training and education of native and resident young researchers, with a particular (but not exclusive) attention to Haïti and the Lesser Antilles. The levels of training correspond to the master and PhD levels.



In a more general way,

  • The association acts to strengthen cooperation between researchers from the Antillean Arc and research teams located outside of the area, particularly through the co-supervision of students and the development of joint research projects.
  • The association contributes to the education of students through the organization of training courses open to students from the Lesser Antilles and Haïti, as well as to Caribbean researchers and conservationists at an early stage in their career, in order to further develop transnational cooperation.
  • It also focuses on facilitating the access of trained students to the job market.
  • Lastly, the association is involved in the transmission of scientific knowledge on biodiversity and wildlife management in the Caribbean within the international academic community, but also towards the general public, youth, managers and policy makers.


* The Antillean Arc means the area covering about 1500 km, located between the 10th and the 23rd degree of north latitude, with the Atlantic Ocean on the east side  and the Caribbean sea on the west side. In the North, it includes the Greater Antilles (Cuba, Haïti, Dominica Republic, Puerto Rico, The Bahamas, Jamaica) and in the south it includes the Lesser Antilles (The Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Saint Martin, St Barthélemy, St Christophe, Antigua & Barbuda, Montserrat, St Kitts & Nevis, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados, Grenada, Trinidad & Tobago).